Leave It to Beaver – Not

Every once in a while I see critters on the way to or from work on my bike commute. Sometimes I don’t see the critters themselves but I see signs of their presence. Such was the case a few days ago when I saw this small willow tree with a big chunk gnawed out of it. The tree was between the Memorial and Theodore Cleaver, I mean Roosevelt, Bridges.

img_0325

A few days later the job was complete.

img_0337

Sadly, the beaver’s hard work was undone by the National Park Service. A crew came by this morning and took the felled tree away.  It’s hard out there for a beaver.

2 thoughts on “Leave It to Beaver – Not

Leave a Reply

