Random Thoughts

It’s been a while since I did a list of the things that the monkeys in my brain are saying. So here goes:

  • The official end of summer happens when your baseball team plays its last game. Spring begins on opening day.
  • Somebody, somewhere makes diapers for dogs. Unless my co-worker is putting me on. Which is possible. Then again, they make poop catchers for horses.
  • Greyhounds are modern day velociraptors. Seriously. Would I lie about such a thing?
  • I grew up with a golden retriever. He’d run away from home and come to my grade school. Then he’d bark at the window of my classroom. So, in front of my whole class, I’d have to go and try to catch him by the collar and take him home. When I think back on it, it’s incredible that he could find me. Dog noses are amazing.
  • A man crashed the bathroom line at the ballgame the other night. I told him that the line starts back yonder. He insisted that he was in front of me the entire time. With a straight face. I should have peed on him.
  • When I work from home, I either get tons done or nothing. The day after the final payoff game in DC was not my best day. It may have something to do with getting home at 2:30.
  • It blows my mind how crappy the DC area subway has become. It was the envy of the nation for most of the 1980s and 1990s. People would literally ooh and aah when the went into the stations. Now they just cringe.
  • I really like Steven Wright’s line: “Everything is walking distance if you have enough time.”
  • I grew up in the frozen north. My father used to get rid of his cars when the warranty expired. Usually every 3 years. He never had rust on his cars either.
  • My record for mileage on a car is 163,000, a 1991 Honda Accord station wagon. I might still own it except the seats made my back ache. One of the cars we own now is a 2004 Honda Accord sedan. It has over 150,000 miles on it. It’s kind of beat up (mostly from my daughter’s experiential driver training) but the seats are comfy and it runs like new. I think it’s going for the record. I took it to the mechanic earlier this week.
  • The mechanic just called. the car is ready. He gave me 2,587.82 reasons to ride my bike.
  • I have never understood people who run or bike with headphones on. I need my hearing to stay safe. Equally as important, I ride my bike to calm my mind, not to add to the day’s info overload.
  • It is truly weird to be known to some people only by my Internet name, Rootchopper. By day, a mild manner government economist (who drops f-bombs at the office computer system on an hourly basis), by night, a bike rider who magically maintains the serenity of the universe by riding 12 miles per hour.
  • Sorry, that last bullet point was a tad woo woo.
  • For most of my adult life I have been doing exercises to strengthen core, abdominal muscles. Whoever said this was a good idea was an ignorant fool. I can do crunches until the cows come home and I  still have back spasm episodes once or twice a year. Lately I have discovered that my back spasms have more to do with weak oblique muscles (on the side of my torso) and tight hamstrings. So when my back starts acting up I just do some side dips or side planks and some hamstring stretches. Your mileage may vary.
  • Over the last 13 months I traveled to seven countries. I have no idea what to do for an encore.
  • I am also maxing out event rides in the DC area this fall. Next year I plan on doing as many rail trail rides as possible or a fall tour, either to Bar Harbor or to Key West. Cold rain or hurricanes. Pick your poison.
  • I unfriended someone yesterday on Facebook. She hadn’t followed me for over a year. Not a comment. Not a “like”. We haven’t done anything together in ages. I will be interested to find out how long it takes before she even realizes that  Elvis has left the FB building.
  • Unfriending sounds mean. I think it’s a brilliantly passive aggressive marketing strategy.  What kind of person would do such a thing to a friend? Um, me.
  • The only place I know where friendship is a one-way street is Providence, Rhode Island.
3 thoughts on “Random Thoughts

  1. my keen powers of observation tell me something has changed around here… btw anyone who works in an office on a computer drops a system frustration related F-Bomb at least once daily based on my unscientific collection of data -walking down the halls and hearing “Effing SharePoint!”, “(insert program here) you piece of Sh##”.

Leave a Reply

