Marching Out of Winter

March pretty much sucked. It always does. This March saw a nice steady projection from January and February.

January: 446.5 miles and 10 bike commutes

February: 506.5 miles and 15 bike commutes

March: 677.5 miles and 19 commutes

That’s 1630.5 miles and 44 commutes for the year.

My longest ride was only 41 miles, which included a commute and some cherry blossom watching.

I rode the Tour Easy (Big Nellie) 296.5 miles. The Mule came in second with 225.5 miles. Little Nellie came in third at 119.5 miles. The Cross Check did the Vasa ride and only a few random miles for a total of 46.5.

Although The Mule has the most miles so far this year, it’s going to the back of the line for the next few months. I plan on using it for my tour around Lake Michigan later this summer so it needs to rest up.

My miles probably will dip in April. We are having our floors refinished which is likely to cause chaos with our day to day lives for a week. Also, it’s birthday month for the Ladies Rootchopper. That means concerts and dinners out and such.

The really good news as far as I am concerned is that my body has finally awoken from its hibernation. The first ten weeks of the year, I have felt slow and out of sync on my bikes. Now that my bikes are in good mechanical order and I have settled into a riding routine, my body mechanics are vastly improved. I can’t wait for that first warm weekend day. Boom!

In the meantime, have some blossoms from the weeping cherry tree in front of our house.

26177142075_d232b049ef_m

Leave a Reply

