So We Have Learned

“What are you going to do this year?”

“I don’t know. I might go to on a trip. I might do a bike tour….”

With a hint of annoyance, she replied:

“We only have today. Stop thinking about doing these things. Do them. Yesterday is gone. The future may not come.”

I thought for a second,  looked over at her,  and said with a hint of a smile on my face:

“So we have learned.”

She looked up at me from across the table and a knowing grin spread across her face.

And somewhere the one who was too soon gone smiled too.

 

 

 

One thought on “So We Have Learned

Leave a Reply

