Clipless in Old Town

The weather the last couple of days has been raw. Cold. Wet. Windy. Not a lot of fun. I rode to work yesterday in a cold rain. The workday wasn’t much better. The ride home was an improvement over the morning but not by much. I spent the evening watching the Nationals get their first win of the year. I was at home, parked in front of the TV with junk food and beer. It was therapeutic.

The ride to work was a replay of the ride home last night. Cold. A little windy. No mas. At least the workday went okay. I had wanted to swing by the cherry blossoms on the way home but the threat of rain put me off. I rode into a cold headwind straight home. At the intersection of Union and King Streets in Old Town a bunch of bicycle folks from Alexandria were holding up signs and encouraging bicyclists to come to a stop at the stop sign. As I rode by one of them said, “That’s Rootchopper.” My hobo attire and Bike Friday gave me away I suppose. I recognized Randy, the last person in line just before the stop sign. I stuck my hand out for a high five which he gave me with appropriate vigor. Then I spazzed.

I went to stop and my foot wouldn’t unclip from my pedal. This is the second time in a week. The last time was with different shoes and a different bike. In any event, a full stop at the stop sign would have meant a very embarrassing and painful fall. Fortunately there were no pedestrians or cars in the way so I wobbled to my right, a few feet up King Street still unable to unclip. I did a u-turn and finally the foot came free. ¬†I think I need new cleats. Doh.

Embarassed by both running the stop sign and spasmotically riding through the intersection I continued on my way home. I swear I stopped at all the stop signs and lights the rest of the way. Really.

I hope that the rest of my night is better. When I was a freshman in college, I lived with the Boston U. hockey team. They went all the way to the championship game in the NCAAs and lost. (They won it all the next year.) Tonight they play in the Frozen Four semifinals. If they win they go to the finals. In Boston Garden. Against Providence College. Fingers crossed! Pass the chips and beer. Go BU!

Leave a Reply

