Philadelphia (and) Eagles

Yesterday, Mrs. Rootchopper and I made a trip to Philadelphia to visit our son. The original plan was to bring him the dresser from his bedroom at home but the dresser didn’t fit in my fine Japanese motor car. So we drove up and took him to Ikea. Here are some random observations about the trip.

  • I hate I 95 so much I add 20 minutes to the trip and drive US 301 instead.
  • The number of potholes increases exponentially when you cross into Pennsylvania. This could be because Pennsylvania is on an invisible climactic border. Or maybe, the state of Pennsylvania is clueless about road construction and maintenance. My money is on the latter.
  • We got lost in Philadelphia. We did get to see boathouse row on the Schuylkill River. (Did you know that Schuykill is Dutch for “How do you spell that, mom?”
  • We found my son’s apartment building. Suffice it to say that he, a 23 year old,  has a much nicer place than did until I turned 29.
  • While walking around for brunch I took notice of all the bike lanes and the cyclists. The Center City area looks pretty bike friendly. They even have planters that double as bike racks (or vice versa).

16967634902_9db36ca36e_z

  • We went shopping at Ikea and WalMart. I HATE big box stores with a passion.
  • The streets of Philadelphia do not have potholes. They have craters.
  • You can tell when a car is being driven by out of towners. They stop for red lights or stop signs.
  • There a many streets in Philadelphia that are too narrow for cars. I think this is genius.

The drive home was not so bad. It did however mean that I would be operating on 5 1/2 hours of sleep today.

I woke up and rode The Mule to my physical therapy session. The numbness in my right foot was much worse during the car ride yesterday. I think it is fair to say that the PTs are stumped. Why am I not getting better? No worries. I have done my last session with them because insurance doesn’t like PT very much.

On the way to the PT office I spotted a bald eagle in the Belle Haven nest. He/she was alone.

After PT, the ride to work was pretty nice. Temperatures were in the high 40s but I had a tailwind. Just what I need on a Monday morning. At the troll bridge undernearth the TR Bridge I spotted a heron perched in a trailside bush. It was had its head tucked so that its beak was under its wing.

It was in the mid-60s went I left the office so I took off my jacket and wind pants and rode in shorts and arm warmers. The wind was blowing everywhichway but I didn’t care. It was sunny out. There was pollen. Yay spring.

On the way home I passed the opera singing busker at the Torpedo Factory. At the Morningside bald eagle nest I spotted an eagle perched on the edge of the nest. It launched as I came closer. Dang, it was big.

Near home I stopped to run a few errands. Once and errandonneur always an errandonneur. I picked up a16957277166_f2120b5314_z newly sharpened lawn mower blade. The edge on this bad boy was so sharp that I strapped it to my back rack instead of sticking it in a pannier. I was fortunate not to crash while this nasty bit of metal was on my bike.

I arrived at home with all major arteries intact. I’ll call that a successful bike commute.

2 thoughts on “Philadelphia (and) Eagles

  1. I’m pretty sure the babies are in the Belle Haven nest. I noticed the eagle there this morning and thought I saw something else moving in it.

Leave a Reply

