Be Careful What You Wish For

Most of the people I know in the #bikedc world live in or near DC. Their commutes are much shorter than mine. Either on their way home or after arriving at home, they often go out to restaurants, art events, or bars. I envy them.

A friend of mine moved from Adams Morgan, in the heart of the city, to subrurban McLean last summer. Her five minute commute radicaly changed. Instead of riding down a hill to work she now had a multi-modal, expensive monstrosity to deal with. She rode her bike to the Metro, rode Metro into the city, and rode to her job. To do this she had to arrive at Metro before 7 am to take her bike on the train. On the return she had to wait until 7 pm to take her bike on the train.

She complained that she had no time to do the things (yoga, meditation, Skype, blog, etc.) that she used to do in the evenings.Then I realized she was complaining about a life that I have just accepted as normal.  My bike commute and job suck up at least 12 hours of my day. In winter, it’s worse because of all the layers of clothing that I have to put on and take off four times in a day.

So tonight I sat down to blog and realized it is already 10 am. I will be getting up in eight hours. I should be tired but I am not. After all, I have ridden nearly 90 miles since Monday. Yet I haven’t felt this good in months. A warm ride home along the river really floats my boat. It would be nice to be able to pull into Meridian Pint or the Right Proper Brewing Company on the way home for a pint of cold  ale. Then again, I saw an amazingly beautiful great blue heron on my way home tonight. He was standing in the river motionless, as if posing for me. Yes, sir, you are one beautiful work of art.

So sometimes I wish I lived and rode in the city. Mostly, as my McLean friend was once advised, I am careful what I wish for.

3 thoughts on “Be Careful What You Wish For

  1. I don’t know about her, but I find riding to be quite meditative. I have some of the same route as you (I cut onto the MVT a little earlier, but then go further into the city–almost to AU) and the various sunsets, especially the winter serene quietness, eagles, still water, etc, all strike me as deeply relaxing. Plus, I’m pretty sure my lower back is in better shape than any of my friends whom have done yoga. Skype, blogging, etc, are legitimate losses. Then again, maybe not.

    1. My friend has referred to my bike commute as my meditation more than once. Unlike her, my commute is an uninterrupted cruise along the river. I would hate her McLean to DC ride every bit as much as she did.

Leave a Reply

