You Look Yet You Do Not Observe

I have been riding to the same office for over three years. And with only a handful of exceptions I always ride from the Mount Vernon Trail up a switchback, across a bridge, then up to the fabled Intersection of Doom. The switchback offers a pretty nice view of Theodore Roosevelt Island. But it’s a blur lost in my negotiating the turn. Until tonight.

I rode down to the switchback and I saw this tree. This magnificent tree on the bank across the way on the island. It looked spooky and majestic and menacing. Or maybe it was waving at me. I think it’s a beech tree. I had to stop and admire it. Hiding in plain sight.

DSCN3608_734

One thought on “You Look Yet You Do Not Observe

Leave a Reply

