Bike Tourists at Mount Vernon

I have been furloughed, sucked into the maw of the federal budget beast. So I spent a few hours on Big Nellie riding to Elevation Burger (meh) at National Harbor, then to the HVAC place in Old Town, then to Mount Vernon. I fell in behind these two folks (the woman is Megan, the man I dunno). They climbed the hill to Mount Vernon like they had nothing on their bikes. Very impressive. They are riding from Lake Placid NY to Florida. Once there they are heading west for California. Megan said they are raising money for a charity but I didn’t get the details. (I’ll post them if I do.) If you see a bike tourist passing through DC, say hi. Buy them lunch. Let them camp in your yard.

One thought on “Bike Tourists at Mount Vernon

Leave a Reply

