Big Nellie Turns 34

Big Nellie Turns 34 by Rootchopper
Big Nellie Turns 34, a photo by Rootchopper on Flickr.

For the first couple if miles on the way to work this morning, I was distracted by a rattling front fender. I stopped to fix it and took off again. After 3 more miles. I realized that I had just missed another milestone. 34,000 miles on the odometer.

I left for work about 30 minutes earlier than usual so I was pretty groggy. Yesterday’s 60 mile ride took some bounce out of my legs so I was also sloggy. Groggy and sloggy is no way to start a work week. Add a headwind and you’re looking at a sloooowww ride.

A guy from Friday Coffee Club (I forgot his name cuz I was groggy) blew by me without breaking a sweat. Coming off the second flyover bridge at National Airport, I started to pass a wedgie rider (wedgie’s are what bent people call regular bikes). I got around him and there was a bike coming right at me. Good thing it was Justin from Friday Coffee Club. Although maybe not, since his new baby lets him have only about 2 hours of continuous sleep each night.

After a very busy day at work, I headed for home into another headwind. (Was it uphill both ways too?) I was a bit worried about the massive traffic heading to the Redskins home opener but then I remembered, I’m on a trail not one of the highways headed to the stadium. HA. HA.

I gloated the rest of the way home. Near the stone bridge on the parkway I saw a truck on the side of the road. It appeared to have a giant piece of sheet metal sticking out the back. The sheet metal was actually the top of the truck which was just a tad too tall for the bridge underpass. This happens two or three times per year. Yet another tragedy of distracted driving.

One thought on “Big Nellie Turns 34

Leave a Reply

