The $800 Drink of Water

Monday dawned with more awesome fall weather, which is great considering we are still in the first week of August. My long ride yesterday resulted in some significant log sawing last night. As a result, I overslept by a good 20 minutes.

Out of the house late I board The Mule for a surprisingly spirited ride to work. I say surprisingly because I had a head wind and lots of hilly miles in my legs from yesterday. I passed the Hoppy Runner and Nancy “One Bag” “Crash Wave” “Bridge Troll” Duley en route.

I called the dentist about the veneer crown I lost yesterday. Not only would he see me today, but he moved my September cleaning appointment up. I left the office at noon for the unusual ride to the west end of Alexandria which might as well put up banners that say, “Welcome to Traffic Hell”.

I headed uphill out of Rosslyn into Arlington. Garbage trucks and city buses made for a less than enjoyable ride so I bailed from Wilson Boulevard and meandered through the side streets. I used to live near Ballston so I am pretty familiar with the streets. I was taken aback by all the new apartments in the Buckingham neighborhood near my old apartment. I hooked up with the Washington and Old Dominion trail and headed east on a slight downhill.

Near Shirlington I left the cozy confines of the W&OD (NOT the WO&D) and headed toward my date with traffic. This being a summer day, the traffic was light and I survived the mayhem long enough to find the Taylor Run Trail which took me within a few blocks of the dentist’s office.

The good news is my teeth are now clean. The bad news is that the old veneer crown cannot be re-used. A new one is going to set me back a cool $800. They offered to put a veneer on another tooth to even out my smile. Big of them, no?

After the appointment I headed for home via the not so magnificent Eisenhower Valley. I arrived home in time to do a little more work and contemplate how a sip of water is going to cost me $800. It’s what you would call a big, big thirst.

One thought on “The $800 Drink of Water

Leave a Reply

